Coin issue to mark Ibsen Year.


Henrik Ibsen is the most frequently performed dramatist in the world after Shakespeare. His plays are no less topical 100 years after his death and have contributed far more than anyone realises to creating the Norwegian identity.

Commemoration of Ibsen Year is being coordinated by the National Ibsen Year Committee, which was appointed by the Ministry of Culture and Church Affairs. The commemoration is intended to focus on Henrik Ibsen's literature and drama and the unique position he still enjoys both in Norway and abroad.

On 16 January, Norges Bank issued a 20-krone special edition circulation coin to commemorate Ibsen Year. The coin is legal tender. The ordinary 20-krone coin will not be minted with the date 2006.

The obverse (front) of the coin has been designed by Ingrid Austlid Rise, designer at Det Norske Myntverket AS (Mint of Norway). The reverse of the coin has been designed by sculptor Nina Sundbye.

Distinguishing features:


H.M. King Harald V's portrait in profile viewed from the right. Around the portrait: HARALD V. NORWAY'S KING. To the left, the artist's initials: IAR: Under...

To continue reading